« Back to Sugarloaf.com

Gabriel Helmlinger and Amanda Labelle repeat as champions at 28th Sugarloaf Marathon

For complete results from the Sugarloaf Marathon and 15k, click here.
For high res photos and edit ready video, click here.

CARRABASSETT VALLEY, Maine – May 16, 2010 – Forty-three-year-old Gabriel Helmlinger of Cambridge, Massachusetts won the Sugarloaf Marathon for the second consecutive in 2 hours, 30 minutes and 47 seconds, nearly four minutes faster than his winning time from 2009. Amanda LaBelle, a 26 year-old from Rockland, Maine, repeated as women’s champion with a time of 3 hours, 2 minutes, and 2 seconds.  

The two managed to reclaim their titles despite facing the largest field of competitors in the 28 year history of the marathon, with 379 runners starting the race. The 15k also hosted the largest field of competitors ever, with 354 registered runners. Runners enjoyed ideal weather conditions, with temperatures in the ranging from the low 40s to the low 60s and bright sunshine throughout the race.  

Helmlinger finished with one of the fastest times of his career on a marathon course that is ranked as one of the top 15 fastest in the country, and finished more than eight minutes ahead of runner-up Erik McCarthey, who completed the course in 2 hours, 38 minutes, and 49 seconds.  

LaBelle took the women’s title handily, beating second place finisher Terri Ladka by nearly 20 minutes. Ladka finished in 3 hours, 21 minutes, and 14 seconds.  

In the Sugarloaf 15k Louie Luchini of Ellsworth, Maine crossed the line in first place for men with a time of 46 minutes, 12 seconds, while South Portland’s Carry Buterbaugh repeated as the women’s champion with at time of 59 minutes, 5 seconds.  

The Sugarloaf Marathon is sponsored by TransCanada and is Maine’s oldest continuously run marathon. The race has long been a favorite for long distance runners throughout the country, due in large part to its scenic location and history of producing some of the fastest marathon times in the nation.

For more information on the Sugarloaf Marathon and 15k, as well as complete results, please visit www.sugarloaf.com/marathon.